Electoral Boundaries

Queensland's 89 electoral districts (electorates) were determined by the 2008 Queensland Redistribution Commission

As Queensland’s population continues to grow and electors move throughout the state, the balance of voters in each electorate changes. Boundary reviews are conducted to ensure each district has a fair and balanced number of electors and in doing so, that each persons vote carries the same value. 

Legislative changes to the Electoral Act 1992 made by the Queensland Parliament meant that the 2017 review was responsible for redistributing the State into 93 districts, instead of the existing 89. For more information, please see the Commission's Final Determination report.